5 things I learnt from travelling- World Tourism Day 2015

Today is the World Tourism Day! The slogan of the day is “1 billion tourists, 1 billion opportunities”. This slogan inspired me to write an article about what travel has taught me so far. Here is my Top 5, but I promise that there are a lot more advantages of travelling.

ENJOY!

1.Boost your Confidence!

 

Develop your orientation skills. Even if you get lost in a city, enjoy it and discover new places!

Develop your orientation skills. Even if you get lost in a city, enjoy it and discover new places!

The first thing I developed by travelling and living abroad is my orientation skills. It is amazing that when I was around 18 years old my orientation was pretty bad. The truth is that I was panicked when I couldn’t find the place that I wanted to go or when I didn’t follow the map. Now, 4 years later my orientation skills are by far better and I feel comfortable when I’m “lost” in the city. Being flexible and not following the plan made me not only to develop my confidence but also to discover new places while wandering around.
I believe that all of us had last-minute travel issues. After copying with these issues you will raise your self-esteem and confidence and you will be more prepared to deal with the next travel problem. When I flew from Glasgow to Barcelona last year I went to the wrong airport as I didn’t know that Glasgow has two airports! What I did was to keep my patience and find a solution (and I nailed it).

Oh yes! :)

Oh yes! 🙂

 

2. Try different cuisines

Who doesn’t love food? One of the reasons to travel is to try new dishes. If you visit Scotland for example stay local and try the Scottish breakfast, haggis or stovies as a main dish, and shortbread as a dessert.

One of my very very very favorite dishes is the Spanish seafood paella! That time, I tried mussels for the first time in my life in a little Catalan tavern … and they were amazingly delicious!

Stay local :)

Stay local 🙂

My favorite dish of the Spanish cuisine! Seafood paella. Love it !!

My favorite dish of the Spanish cuisine! Seafood paella. Love it !!

3. You don’t need to spend a fortune to travel!

You don’t really to save a whole bucket of pounds (or euros or dollars or yen ) in order to travel. You can find cheap tickets and travel with low cost airlines such as Ryanair, Vueling, Transavia, Easy Jet, etc etc. Alternatively, you can travel by train or by bus. There are always inexpensive ways to go to the country or city you always dreamed of. The hitching is also a possible solution. Furthermore, save money by selecting non-direct flights and sleeping in the airports. You can visit Sleeping in Airports website for more information.

You can save money by choosing low cost airlines

You can save money by choosing low cost airlines

4. Exercice your packing skills

It’s really difficult to carry big and heavy luggages while travelling. Ask yourself if you truly need all these clothes, accessories and shoes. Try to minimize your “essentials” and fit them into a hand luggage and a backpack. You will feel far more comfortable and it will be easier for you to move and explore a place. I normally fit all my electronic devices into my backpack. This includes laptop+ charger, my i-Phone, headphones and mp3, and adaptors. A power bank (portable battery charger) is really useful because it doesn’t let you down when your mobile phone/ mp3 /GPS running out of battery. Also, you don’t have to carry a lot of cables as the power bank already has one. I have the EZREAL Rock and I totally recommend it!

Pack like a boss! Take a hand luggage and a backpack. I recommend you to take a power bank with you. It's life saving!!

Pack like a boss! Take a hand luggage and a backpack. I recommend you to take a power bank with you. It’s life saving!! Thumbs up for my Scottish dogs badge ❤

5. You can find diamonds on coal 

Every, I mean every city has something beautiful to show you. You just have to find it out. Don’t always rely to first impressions. Take your time and discover places that your eye didn’t catch at the first glance. Grasp the opportunity to speak with locals and listen to their stories. My short stay in Himara, Albania was not ideal due to some technical problems… However, I couldn’t say that I didn’t admire the beautiful sea view from the balcony of my room or that I didn’t appreciate the warmness of the hotel owners.

"Take your time and discover places that your eye didn’t catch at the first glance"

“Take your time and discover places that your eye didn’t catch at the first glance”

P.S  I’m really happy that my country has a new record of tourist arrivals. This year 26 millions of tourists visited Greece and the year hasn’t finished yet.

Take a look of my summer 2015 in Greece:

My top Greek moments last summer

My top Greek moments last summer

Don’t forget to check my latest blog posts about Paros & Hydra.

Comment below or find me on facebook: Phileas Fogg Adventures

If  you liked the article please, share it on facebook/ twitter or +google.

THANK YOU a lot for your support!

Leave a Reply

